Your Go-To Pie Crust Recipe

This is my mom’s that she has past down to my sister and I. I believe it’s just out of Betty Crocker’s cookbook. But I hate going through the whole book just to find the stinking recipe. So I’m putting it here for you all to have for quick reference. It’s incredibly simple, and it tastes good. Who could ask for more?

This makes one pie crust. Double if you need a top part.

1/3 cup + 1 Tbsp of shortening- I use butter flavored crisco.

1 cup of Flour

1/2 tsp Salt

2-3 Tbsp cold water- I use 3-4 actually. It toughens it up and makes it easier to roll out and not flake. _MG_0324

With a fork, combine all the ingredients until well incorporated and able to form a ball.

On a well floured surface (I use a pastry cloth that I bought. It makes clean up a breeze!!) (but any surface will work as long as it’s floured properly), sprinkle the dough and rolling pin with flour. Roll out evenly until desired size is achieved. It should be about 1/8″- 1/4″ thick. Carefully place into the pie tin and crimp the edges.

You should be ready to rumble!

The Wife…. And Betty…. Thanks Betty.

2 thoughts on “Your Go-To Pie Crust Recipe

  1. Pingback: Chess Pie: You’re Going to Want to Try This… | The Everyday Chef and Wife

  2. Pingback: Garden Veggie Quiche For Anytime of the Day | The Everyday Chef and Wife

Leave a comment