Lemon Crinkle Cookies

_MG_0248

I told you about the spring/lemon thing… This is no joke. I crave lemons as soon as I hear the chirping of birds.

WHEN WILL THIS SNOW BE RID OF US?! 

The piles are still as high as my nose. It’s enough already. I need to green grass soon… *This is where I put bird songs on Spotify and go into my happy place…*

But on to lemons…

These little pretties are just about as lovely by themselves as they are with a spot of tea. They are perfectly sweet, they are light, they exude spring.

I honestly don’t know where I came across this recipe. I saved it on my computer a few years ago and keep returning back to it. It has quickly become tradition to whip these up when I’m over being frozen. (They’ve come out as early as mid February…)

They are really quite simple to make, which is nice isn’t it?

WET
……….

½ cups butter, softened

1 cup granulated sugar

½ teaspoons vanilla extract

1 whole egg

1 teaspoon lemon zest

1 Tablespoon fresh lemon juice

DRY
………

¼ teaspoons salt

¼ teaspoons baking powder

⅛ teaspoons baking soda

1-½ cup all-purpose flour

Topping
……………

½ cups powdered sugar

*This made about 1 1/2 dozen- I would possibly double if serving to a party*

Preheat the oven to 350˚

In a kitchen aid, combine butter and sugar until creamy and fluffy. Add in the egg and vanilla. Mix in lemon zest and juice. Scrape down sides to insure complete incorporation.

Wet and dry ingredients mixed

Wet and dry ingredients mixed

Sift the dry ingredients together (this helps to make sure you don’t have pockets of baking power or soda and bakes more evenly). Slowly combine with the wet ingredients. Again, scrape down sides and mix again.

_MG_0172

With either a small “ice cream” scoop (mine was 3/4 oz) or a tablespoon, scoop out and roll into a tight ball with your hands. Roll the dough around in the powder sugar for complete coverage. Place onto a lightly greased pan. Sit them about 2″ or so apart. Bake for 7-9 minutes- when the bottom is just slightly turning brown and the top is matte, “not shiny or melty”.  Let them cool for a couple minutes before transferring them to a cooling rack.

Be prepared with a glass of milk or a cup of tea.

Wouldn’t these be perfect at a little tea party? I am itching to be able to have one of my own. I have obtained quite a few patterns of china, and I am determined to use them all this year! Feel free to join me.

Let us know what your favorite cookies are! Do you have a seasonal favorite too? What do you put out for tea parties?

Do you have tea parties?

Am I the only one?

Am I still 7?

I would appreciate any fellow tea partier’s to let me know that I’m not alone….

Obviously, -The Wife

One thought on “Lemon Crinkle Cookies

  1. Kate,
    You always put a smile on my face (and I almost always chuckle) when I read your comments that come along with your recipes. You are precious!
    Mom Montgomery

Leave a comment