Homemade Noodles (Easier Than You Think!)

_MG_8732

Noodles: Ready to Cook

This was the first dish that Jason ever made me (Kate). We had just started dating a few weeks earlier, but long distance only allowed long talks on the phone. My first visit to his house, and he was making me dinner! I was so excited. He found out my favorite meal was chicken alfredo. He decided to go the extra mile and wow me with homemade noodles. I. Was. In. Love. They were thick (which normally I don’t like, but these were beyond yummy), flavorful (not the first thing you think of when eating noodles), and tender. I couldn’t get enough of them. You know the feeling (ladies) when you’re first dating someone and you don’t want to eat too much because your nerves decide to pull a fancy little design of knots all throughout your stomach, mixed with with the fact you don’t want to look like the regular pig you are, but a dainty little dreamlike idea who takes two bites and says “I’m full” ? Yea, well, all of that had flown out of my mind as soon as I tasted those wonderful twirly creations. I was hooked for life!

Not only is this not as bad of a process as I once thought, but it’s healthier, tastier and cheaper than regular noodles. Sure, nothing is as quick as opening a cardboard box and pouring them in a pot of boiling water. But, to think about how processed they can be, it puts our minds at ease knowing we can whip up a batch of noodles with a little extra effort and we know exactly what’s going in them. Also, like I said, it’s super cheap. Basically we made 2 lbs of pasta for about $1. The most expensive thing was the eggs (organic, cage-free ain’t cheap!).

Pasta Dough- about a pound. We doubled this to make enough for 6 people. They are filling!

2 C. Flour

3 Eggs

1/2 tsp. Salt

1 Tbsp Olive Oil
There are two ways of making pasta dough. By hand or by machine. Both work fine. Let’s talk machine first. (The process we chose.) Putting all the ingredients in the Kitchen-Aid, attach the dough hook._MG_8687

Set on low to medium speed for 6-7 minutes or until the dough has come together in a ball and separates from the sides of the bowl. It should be slightly sticky. Make it up into a tight ball. Wrap in Saran Wrap and set in refrigerator for 10 minutes. This is the resting stage for the dough. It’s important for the dough to relax before rolling it out so it doesn’t tear or break when working with it.

_MG_8693

Once relaxed, coat heavily in flour, and cut in half. This is an better size to deal with rolling the dough through the pasta roller/cutter._MG_8697

Roll out to your preferred thickness. This can range from slightly above paper thin – 1/8″.  When we’re making alfredo, we tend to go on the thicker side. Since they are fresh (not dried), they only take about 3 minutes to cook. If they’re really thin, pull them out a minute earlier. Cook in boiling salted water.

_MG_8701_MG_8704

If you want to dry the pasta, you can use anything the noodles can drape over. (i.e. sanitized coat hangers) When cooking dried pasta: 8-10 min.

_MG_8772

The Finished Product

I’m going to be putting the Alfredo recipe up probably tomorrow. My child is in the background whining for my attention.  One of the joys of working from home. I absolutely love it!!

Til next time friends!

The Everyday Chef and Wife

Leave a Reply

